REVIEW: The Roots – How I Got Over [2010]

How I Got Over is the ninth studio album by American hip hop band The Roots, released June 22, 2010 on Def Jam Recordings. Production for the album was primarily handled by band members Black Thought and Questlove during 2008 to 2009.


  1. A Peace of Light f. Amber Coffman, Angel Deradoorian & Haley Dekle of Dirty Projectors
  2. Walk Alone f. Truck North, P.O.R.N. & Dice Raw
  3. Dear God 2.0 f. Monsters of Folk
  4. Radio Daze f. Blu, P.O.R.N. & Dice Raw
  5. Now or Never f. Phonte & Dice Raw
  6. How I Got Over f. Dice Raw
  7. DillaTUDE: (The Flight of Titus)
  8. The Day f. Blu, Phonte & Patty Crash
  9. Right On f.Joanna Newsom & STS
  10. Doin’ It Again
  11. The Fire f. John Legend
  12. Tunnel Vision
  13. Web 20/20 f. Peedi Peedi & Truck North
  14. Hustla f. STS


The Roots 2008 album Rising Down was reported to be their final album in their respected discography, which was quite sad, as the album– much like their previous 2006 album Game Theory— really didn’t do it for me all that much as their work before. For a group as talented and inspiring as the Roots to fade to black on a low note was just not tolerable.

Luckily, I wasn’t the only one who thought this, as we find ourselves on the release of The Roots latest effort, How I Got Over, only two years later.

In an era of bubblegum, pop-influenced hip-hop, an album of How I Got Over‘s caliber is an amazing moment. Beautifully orchestrated and smooth from the opening second to the closing second, The Roots easily show that it is possible to make insightful and powerful music in today’s day and age of hip-hop.

In my opinion, Jazz has always gone hand-in-hand with (true) hip-hop, and the Roots masterfully use the cool, slick, smooth presence of Jazz throughout the majority of this destined-to-be classic. As I stated earlier, this is a return for hip-hop music with meaning, soul, and art.

For me, the back-to-back-to-back-to-back Walk Alone, Dear God 2.0, Radio Daze, and Now or Never are the highest marks on this truly remarkable album. It was hard to pull those tracks out of a tracklist that doesn’t have a single skippable track. From start to finish, The Roots and the other contributing artists paint a beautiful picture that reflects Picoso’s best artwork. Whether it be fast-paced-yet-calming with the title track How I Got Over, impossible not to move to while listening with the techno coated Web 20-20, How I Got Over will be hailed as a classic, and despite my annoyances with giving away a title such as that so early, there is no doubt in my mind that this is indeed a classic hip-hop album.


3 Responses to “REVIEW: The Roots – How I Got Over [2010]”
  1. Jeremy DeRaadt says:

    This is the awesome band that works on Jimmy Fallon’s late night show!

  2. Moussa says:


    I just wanna thank you very much for this beautiful website. As a French fan of US hip hop, I think your reviews are just better than the “French professional” ones we can find here in France.
    So thank you, and thanks for all the beats we can download.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: