REVIEW: Eminem – Recovery (2010)

Recovery is the seventh studio album by American rapper Eminem. Recovery was confirmed during a press release by Eminem’s label on March 5, 2009 and was originally titled Relapse 2. It was slated to be the second Eminem album released in 2009, after Relapse, but was pushed back to 2010.

Tracklist:

1. Cold Wind Blows
2. Talkin’ 2 Myself (f. Kobe)
3. On Fire
4. Won’t Back Down (f. Pink)
5. W.T.P.
6. Going Through Changes
7. Not Afraid
8. Seduction
9. No Love (f. Lil Wayne)
10. Space Bound
11. Cinderella Man
12. 25 to Life
13. So Bad
14. Almost Famous
15. Love the Way You Lie (f. Rihanna)
16. You’re Never Over

Review:

It seems like since the 2005 album Encore, Marshall Mathers has been desperately and hungrily trying to reclaim the legacy that he had built with his earliest efforts (The Slim Shady LP, The Marshall Mathers LP, and The Eminem Show). He’s not the only one. Hip-hop heads have been rooting for the man through thick and thin. Let’s be honest though, who really expects Eminem to outdo three classic hip-hop albums? At best Recovery was always destined to fall behind Eminem Show, yet that didn’t stop the hype.

When you’ve accomplished as much as Shady there’s only two routes you could go: fall off or sell out. It was obvious he wasn’t going to sell himself out (despite what many bloggers said) with Relapse, his first comeback effort. I didn’t vibe well with the record. It wasn’t that Relapse was a terrible album, it was just that overall it was all over the place. Lyrically, he was at his highest, but everything else just felt half-assed. The voice. The beats.

Recovery is Eminem’s make-or-break album. After the lackluster Encore and the misguided Relapse the same people who were backing the man from day one will either embrace the legend again or turn their backs once and for all. As sad as it is to say, Recovery could have very well diminish the legacy that he’s built over the past 10 years. Luckily, it didn’t.

The small intro that we receive in the first 30-seconds of Cold Wind Blows is fantastic. The sinister, emotionally scarred strain in the man’s voice is back. Overall, Cold Wind Blows is a nice opening track. Nothing too amazing, but will instantly convince the listener that the man is back. Talkin’ 2 Myself is one of the first times we’ve heard Marshall be so honest since Encore, acknowledging his failures, revealing that he almost began beef with artists over jealousy, and how he’s pulling himself together. It will be debated whether or not Kobe’s hook is simple there for the mainstream, but in my opinion it adds something that wasn’t there that needed to be.

Fans of the unappreciated and forgotten Infinite album will be relieved to know that On Fire is the closest we’ll ever get to anything that was present on that album. The bad part about this is, much like Infinite, this will be the track that everybody forgets about on an amazing album. The Pink-assisted Won’t Back Down is, in my opinion, easily the weakest element in this album. Nothing really seems to compliment the other. The beat, Pink’s hook, the lyrics, Em’s vocals, none go together all too well.

W.T.P. (White Trash Party) is hard to describe. It’s definitely an enjoyable song, but the beat is too “club” for me. Another track that Eminem murders with cynical rhyme patterns that will astonish even the “anti-rap” crowd, W.T.P. just falls short.

I know I’m not alone in my enjoyment of Marshall’s emotional, depressive-yet-contradicting songs more so than anything else in his body of work. Going Through Changes is not only one of those songs, but one of the best. Lyrically, this is one of the most personal and honest on Recovery. Unveiling lines such as, “it’s in their best interest to protect their investment, and i just lost my best friend, so fuck it I guess I’m going through changes”. The incorporation of his daughter Hailie’s voice towards final verse, backed by the beeping of a heart monitor is simply spine-tingling.

Not Afraid was used to announce to the world that the man was aiming at a comeback. Most doubted it would happen and I’m sure those people feel silly now. Seduction is surprisingly very, very enjoyable. A nice little ballad to woman and how he needs them that counters his Eminem Show single Superman.

For those that are unaware of the fact that every single track that Lil Wayne and Eminem have done together, they’ve each pulled the best out of one another, I will instantly point you to this track. Forget Forever. Forget Drop the World. No Love is that song. Doubt it? The two somehow make the Night at the Roxbury song What is Love dope.

I could go on and on about every single track on this record. Point blank: this is a modern day classic that needs to be experienced first hand with every surprise awaiting. There’s not a single “terrible” song on this album. Some worse than others, but which album doesn’t have that? While, I’ll obviously get attacked for making such a bold statement, this is an opinion that I will stand behind fully. Eminem wanted a come back, well he’s done it. Welcome back and hold your head up, Marshall.

9/10

Comments
20 Responses to “REVIEW: Eminem – Recovery (2010)”
  1. Brizzy says:

    maaan this makes me excited like shit!!!! I wanna have the album, NOW! but even though there are leaks, Im not gonna download anything. Based on your review, the album is pretty awesome, and in my appinion he deserves every single penny for this one. Love ya Em, welcome back :)
    P.s. I am really starting to LOVE this blog.. fucking amazing dude :O Check in like 3 times a day. Keep it up! Spreading the word about it.

  2. Brizzy says:

    by the way, just rememberd that I can download AND buy it (Y)
    Where did you get the album!!??

  3. shay says:

    no love
    talkin 2 myself

    best songs off the album
    gotta give it to the man, buy his album
    you can leak it for now, then buy it when it comes out

  4. Danny says:

    Damn, I wanted to hear your thoughts on “25 to Life”. When he reveals at the end of the track that he was talking about Hip Hop all along, I got chills down my spine! I know it’s been done before with Common’s “I Used To Love H.E.R.”, but I seriously didn’t see it coming on this track. Eminem killed it with the metaphor.
    Also, I’ve got to agree with Brizzy, really good blog. I make sure to check it every day. Keep up the good work! :)

    • Fred Lozano says:

      That’s easily one of the best tracks on the album, if not THE best track. I wanted to leave a few surprises for those that haven’t listened to the album yet.

  5. Shadyz_Apprentice says:

    I love the album. listen to it like 20 times already, and one of my favorites off the album is “You’re Never Over” the tribute to Proof. I would give this album a 10/10

  6. YURP says:

    ve only listened to it once and i was underwhelmed… idk maybe its because the beats are mostly average unlike his classic albums… Also he just have the same mic presence anymore…its like he’s trying too hard to be lyrical now…anyways i know it will grow on me like Relapse did because it still is very lyrical… and i don’t like how he completely shits on Relapse through out the album just because of the reception it got… including all the bonus tracks Relapse was a decent album…

    also i see him losing a LOT of fans with this album… if people felt The Eminem Show or Encore was too “emo” then they aint seen nothing yet lol

    right now id rate it a 3.5/5…

    • Shadyz_Apprentice says:

      are you fucking kidding me. the beats are sick and every single person i have talked to thinks this is his best including me. he is Very lyrical, if you listened to the lyrics you would know..you obviously dont know anything about eminem

  7. ASID says:

    CLASSIC ALBUM!!!

    GONNA BE CONSIDERED ONE OF THE BEST OF THE YEAR…DECADE..

    DESCENT REVIEW…9.5 FOR ME

  8. ASID says:

    but sad that one of my fav tracks..Space Bound didn’t get a mention

  9. Cal says:

    For a 9/10 album I really didn’t see the love. Especially with this line “As sad as it is to say, Recovery could very well diminish the legacy that he’s built over 10 years.” But maybe I misread it,

    Anyway this album took me 2 listens to realize just how awesome it is. It feels like a mash up of his past albums; MMLP(“Almost famous” reminds me of Amityville in terms of flow and shouting wise), “25 to life” to Eminem Show tracks(Subject matter wise esp. his love/hate relationship with the game)

    Bottom line is this is what a comeback sounds like, and just how many Hip hop artists have we ever seen have such a momentous rebirth when they were near the abyss?

    • Fred Lozano says:

      I was referring to the possibility of Recovery not delivering when I said, “as sad as it is to say, Recovery could very well diminish the legacy that he’s built over 10 years.” Which obviously didn’t happen.

  10. G says:

    Good Review. Cinderella Man and 25 to life are my top songs on the album. Album of the year easily. i give it a 9.5/10.

  11. R says:

    Ok Eminem saids in this song “Take a look at mariah the next time i inspire you too write a song” so hes obviously warning someone but who is he talking too when he says that like iv tried too figure this out for the past week but no one has said anything… can someone help me out!

  12. K. Tud says:

    It’s not directed at anyone in particular, just to anybody that wants to beef with him, check out what he did with Mariah.

  13. Big A says:

    Eminem’s “Recovery” is definately a classic album in my opinion, and one of the best hip hop albums i heard in years. might even be his best yet, time will tell. As a true loyal fan i’m so glad that eminem is back to form and in a more mature way. i’ve notice alot of critics shitting on this album and i can’t understand why this album is fuckin dope! definately better than any other rap album out now. eminem has grown alot and i feel this album will put him back on top again where he belongs. everyone who doesn’t have the album yet go but it support real fuckin rap! peace.

  14. theBigLZ says:

    I completely agree with Big A. The new Eminem is more mature, and skill-wise as sound as he’s ever been. He’s more well-rounded! His flow is more amazing than ever, rhyme schemes are often so slick they give me goosebumps, but most of all, he masters both of these things while bringing some of his deepest, most real lyrics he’s ever done. The amazing production, beats and catchy as hell choruses just add to the key element, which is his lyrics, to round this out as his best album, and one of the best albums hip-hop has seen in a long time. And…fuck the critics!!!

  15. ionaudio.com says:

    I think what you posted made a bunch of sense. However, what about this?
    what if you added a little content? I mean, I don’t wish to tell you how to run your blog, however what if you added a post title to possibly grab folk’s attention?

    I mean REVIEW: Eminem – Recovery (2010)
    Bubblegum Way is a little boring. You might look at Yahoo’s home page and note how they create post titles to grab viewers to click. You might add a related video or a pic or two to get people interested about everything’ve
    written. In my opinion, it would make your website a little livelier.

  16. Reece says:

    Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment (it was
    extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.

    I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any tips for inexperienced blog writers? I’d
    certainly appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

