Christopher Nolan on Batman, Superman, the Joker, etc.

Christopher Nolan sat down with Empire to discuss Batman 3 and the new Superman movie. Regarding Supes:

“What it is, while David Goyer and myself were putting together the story for another Batman film a few years ago – you know, thrashing out where we might move on from ‘The Dark Knight’ – we got stuck. We were just sitting there idly chatting and he said, ‘ By the way, I think I know how you approach Superman,’ and he told me his take on it. I thought it was really tremendous. It was the first time I had been able to conceive of how you would address Superman in a modern context. I thought it was a very exciting idea.”

What about Batman 3?

“My brother is working on the screenplay. We came up with a story that we are very excited about. We particularly like where we are taking the characters and what the ending is… There are things for me to be very excited about in addressing the characters again. But ultimately it always comes down to the script, and can we make a great film from this? That’s something I will firmly be turning my attention to figuring out fairly soon.” It will be, he said, “the finishing of a story rather than infinitely blowing up the balloon and expanding the story.”

And for those hoping for a possible recasting and return of the Joker… not going to happen.

“No,” said Nolan resisting to elaborate, “I just don’t feel comfortable about it.”

Comments
One Response to “Christopher Nolan on Batman, Superman, the Joker, etc.”
  1. Brizzy says:

    This superman movie is making me really anxious to see what’s going on. This dude must’ve been really impressed by the whole thing since he said it above, and if Nolan thinks that it is “tremendous” then it has to be great. As of Batman 3, im glad he left the joker alone. He should move on to another villain, excited for that one aswell.

Leave a Reply

