REVIEW: Drake – Thank Me Later (2010)


  1. Fireworks f. Alicia Keys (prod. Crada, 40)
  2. Karaoke (prod. Francis and the Lights)
  3. The Resistance (prod. 40)
  4. Over (prod. Boi-1da, Al Khaliq)
  5. Show Me a Good Time (prod. Kanye West)
  6. Up All Night f. Nicki Minaj (prod. Boi-1da)
  7. Fancy f. T.I. & Swizz Beatz (prod. Swizz Beatz)
  8. Shut it Down f. The-Dream (prod. Omen, 40)
  9. Unforgettable f. Young Jeezy (prod. Boi-1da, 40)
  10. Light Up f. Jay-Z (prod. Tone Mason, 40)
  11. Miss Me f. Lil Wayne (prod. Boi-1da, 40)
  12. Cece’s Interlude (prod. 40)
  13. Find Your Love (prod. Kanye West)
  14. Thank Me Now (prod. Timbaland)


Hate him or love him, there is no denying that Aubrey “Drake” Graham is huge for the world of hip-hop. Who would have believed that a Jewish Canadian actor coming from the Canadian television series Degrassi: The Next Generation could blow up as large as he has in the music industry? No one. Yes, there has been a buzz as big as his for a new artist in the past (ex: Snoop Dogg, 50 Cent), but never an artist with his back story. It’s easy to call Drake fake because he was born into a wealthy family, his signing with Young Money Entertainment, or his most attacked feature: his religion and nationality.

Drake is the hip-hop artist that everybody is silently rooting for. Captivating the community with three mixtapes with Room For Achievement, Comeback Season and his most commercial with So Far Gone in 2009. The man’s whole career rests on this debut album Thank Me Later. How’d he do?

The album blasts off with the Alicia Keys-assisted record Fireworks. As the fireworks wizz and whistle and explode in the distance, Drake comes strong with recognizing what he has to accomplish. Fireworks is a fantastic introduction into the story that is soon to unfold. All I could picture while listening to this was the slow-moving opening scene for a movie. The track beautifully moves into Karaoke, an R&B record that masterfully tricks the listener into believing this to be a sonnet to a female, missing the underlying of Drake’s opinion on his fame and fortune.

The Resistance follows the same path as Fireworks and Karaoke whereas the track Over is what it is. An extremely catchy single to garner attention and sales for the album. Show Me a Good Time is another highlight for the album. This is Drake at his most honest finally acknowledging the hip-hop communities’ sudden hatred towards him once he reached fame and fortune with lyrics such as, “how did I end up right here with you, after all the things that I’ve been through” and “people really hate when a backpack rapper get rich and start living that life dawg”.

Maybe this is just me, but every Swizz Beatz produced record on any album is always my least favorite. Fancy is no exception. Somehow this beat even pulls the worst from T.I. on this track. Light Up, on the other hand, garners high marks and makes a large impact with a feature from the Godfather of hip-hop himself, Jay-Z. I don’t I could stress enough just how big of a deal it is to have Hov’s signature on a debut album.

Overall, Drake’s album exceeded my own expectations. I won’t deny that I lost faith in Drake pulling this off once he started appearing on MTV with mediocre verses aimed at the high school generation. Did he pull off a successful album to answer his hype? Yes and no. Drake seems to lose track of what he’s aiming for with tracks like Fancy, Miss Me (which I can give a pass, since he obviously had to throw Wayne on at some point), and Thank Me Now. They just feel out of place in the finished product. Is this a classic? No, but I do see this aging well, despite being half-and-half. – Fred Lozano


8 Responses to “REVIEW: Drake – Thank Me Later (2010)”
  1. nugga says:

    LOL. 5.5/10? damn nugga. And you didnt even say a lotta bad things about it. i guess it is 5.5/8?

    • Fred Lozano says:

      @ nugga

      The album falls flat towards the middle mark and never really seizes what it accomplished in the beginning. Half the album is great, the other half, not so much.

      Tracks like Fancy, Find Your Love, Miss Me, and Thank Me Now don’t do it for me. They’re out of place on the complete album.

      But as I stated in my review, I can easily myself enjoying this album more over time.

      • nugga says:

        i like your site nugga keep it up it s like an upgraded 2dbz without the saggy balls

  2. Omar says:

    I like the site Fred, but this review is way harsh. Consider the fact that the album leaked in the worst possible way, in that it would leak one track at a time and then make you play out every track by the time the next track leaked. When the album leaked there were only a handful of new songs, which probably made you score it lower. Just saying.

    That being said, the album does grow on you as you listen to it more as a whole. I give it a solid 8/10, knocking points off for Drake failing to impress consistently lyrically. Features did okay, and production was on point. This will be the first album I buy in the last 6 years, unless I win it in that caption contest of yours, haha.

    • Fred Lozano says:


      I didn’t listen to the leak. This review has been written up and scheduled for a drop for about three days now and I pushed it forward due to the leak.

      I just didn’t groove with this album as much as other cats, I guess. I’ll still be picking up a copy. I didn’t hate it. Maybe a 5.5/10 is a little harsh, but as I stated earlier, half the album works for me, the other doesn’t.

  3. Omar says:

    Wait, if you didn’t listen to the leak, then how did you hear the album? Is this blog big enough to be getting advance copies or something?

  4. Fred Lozano says:


    This blog just started less than 4 months ago, and for where we’re at now, we’ve already come pretty far.

  5. Sha says:

    Real Review Fam

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: