#WTF!?: You Can’t Go Away ‘LOST’!

As the highly anticipated 2 1/2hr series finale to ABC’s LOST airs tomorrow night (Sunday, May 23rd) at 9/8c., I can’t help but reflect back upon the six seasons and how badly I do not want the show to go away. LOST is the only tv show that constantly makes me go… what the fuck!?

As May 23rd grows closer and closer, I can’t help but feel a mix of excitement and depression. See, I’ve never had a “show”. Something that I made a necessity to be plopped down before a television set every single week. I never had that. Then LOST came around. I’ll be honest, I attempted to watch the first season, but found myself lost (you see what I did there?) and eventually I left the show in my past. There was always this intention to finally watch this badboy, but I waited until the announcement of an end-date and the release of the 5th season on DVD and Blu-ray before I did.

“Nice to meet you Smokey, I am Mr. Eko.”

Like all of the world, I soon became engaged to the crazy incidents and events that unfolded on the island. Whether it be the island, giant polar bears, why John Locke is no longer paralyzed or why Rose is cured of cancer, the whispers, an entity made entirely of smoke, Adam and Eve, learning that somebody wasn’t on the plane, the Others, the hatch, the button, the Dharma Initiative, the numbers, the Egyptian statue, why women can’t give birth on the island, what’s so special about Walt, the flashfowards, the flashsideways, the time travel, who the hell Jeremy Benton is, or who the hell the Man in Black is, I was engaged with any and every twist-and-turn while foaming at the mouth for more clues and more answers I’ll never get.

I really wish they hadn’t revealed their backstory…

While the series may get it’s fame from being mysterious, random and crazy as all hell, the thing that drives the story of LOST is the characters. Very few movies accomplish this, let alone television series’. Whether you hate Kate or not, whether you’ve forgiven Ben for his past sins, you actually cared about these characters. When a character died it was like losing a close friend.

You know what they say…

As eager as I am to find out just what the hell is going on in this goddamn show, the more I think about it… I don’t wanna know. I learned this as the answers began to pour out during this final season. Now that I know where Jacob, the Man in Black and the smoke monster came from, I don’t feel as much about that aspect of the story anymore. The speculation is gone. The mystery is gone and without it, it just becomes… ordinary.

“It puts the lotion on it’s skin or else it gets the hose again!”

I don’t want LOST to go anywhere. I want the characters to continue to discover new insane things that make absolutely no sense at all for the rest of eternity. Sadly, it must come to an end and that end is sooner than I’d have hoped. Locke, Jack, Jacob, Hurley, Sawyer, Jin, Son, Charlie, Smokey, the Man in Black, the numbers, the hatch, the island, and most importantly: LOST… you will be missed. What the fuck?! – Fred Lozano

:(

Comments
3 Responses to “#WTF!?: You Can’t Go Away ‘LOST’!”
  1. Anonymous says:

    This is really good and I agree. I am going to miss this one.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] https://bubblegumway.wordpress.com/2010/05/22/wtf-you-cant-go-away-lost/As the highly anticipated 2 1/2hr series finale to ABC’s LOST airs tomorrow night (Sunday, May 23rd) at 9/8c., I can’t help but reflect back upon the six seasons and how badly I do not want the show to go away. LOST is the only tv show … […]

  2. […] https://bubblegumway.wordpress.com/2010/05/22/wtf-you-cant-go-away-lost/As the highly anticipated 2 1/2hr series finale to ABC’s LOST airs tomorrow night (Sunday, May 23rd) at 9/8c., I can’t help but reflect back upon the six seasons and how badly I do not want the show to go away. LOST is the only tv show … […]



Leave a Reply

