REVIEW: Verizon Blackberry Curve 8530

Verizon’s newest version of the Blackberry Curve, the Blackberry Curve 8530, is not much like its predecessor at all. The design is not the only thing that changed on it. Click the jump for the full review to see whether it’s worth buying or not.

Review:

The Verizon Blackberry Curve 8530 has a new, sleek design geared toward a younger audience. The black frame and keys is a good change from the cheap-looking silver of the 8330. There is also a violet available, and if you like the color, the only thing really wrong with the color choice on it is that the keys are very difficult to see. I really like the black look of the new phone because the keys are very easy to see, the phone looks a lot classier, and any scratches or anything that it may have don’t show up as easily. It’s also built a lot stronger than the previous version of it, so if you drop it, it pretty much just bounces and comes up unharmed. I would still recommend the screen protectors and some sort of cover (I have a rubber one) for it just to keep it safe and looking nice.

As far as performance, the battery life is much better than most smart phones. It doesn’t exactly hold up for days on end, but I am constantly texting and on the Internet, and it usually lasts for more than a full day without having to be plugged into the charger. I still make sure that I have a car charger available at all times, though, in case the battery chooses not to hold up. There is also an extended battery available for it if the battery life doesn’t fit with your lifestyle. It comes with the basics of a USB cord, a charger, manuals, and such. Nothing really special. The charger isn’t as compact as some of the other new Verizon phones and it doesn’t mesh the USB cord and charger in one, but it does the job, and that’s really all that matters.

The phone comes with many more pre-loaded apps than the 8330. With Skype mobile, 7 games (including Sims 3 which I refuse to download and take up all the space on my phone), NFL Mobile (I would have preferred NBA), Slacker Radio, VZW Tones, and then all the usuals. The Internet on the phone is a lot faster than the older Blackberries, even though my brother has the Tour, and his Internet is significantly faster than mine, and my Internet gets really slow sometimes. But for $100 cheaper (when the phone’s on sale), it’s pretty much the same phone. I’m sure if I put a memory card in it (which won’t work if it’s a 1GB or even 2GB–it has to have more space) it would be a little faster, but I don’t have enough things on my phone to need a memory card.

The one major difference that is BETTER on the Curve 8530 in comparison to the Tour is the new and improved trackball. It’s more of a trackpad now, which doesn’t get stuck like the trackball does, and it doesn’t have to be replaced. This makes for a lot less problems than the older Blackberries and even the Tour. This is the one reason that I actually picked the “lesser” of the two phones, after the guy at Verizon told me that they’re the same phone. The keys on the 8530 is also a lot nicer than the 8330 and it’s way different than the Tour too. It raises up on the sides, which makes texting a lot easier and there is a lot less room for mistakes texting or typing numbers.

The picture on the screen, I think, is really good for a phone. I mean there are some that are better, but for a Blackberry it’s really good. The camera is decent, and the editing features are better than some phones, but there is no flash, which kind of annoys me. There are worse and less expensive phones out now that have flashes, yet this phone can’t have one?

The sound on the phone is great, even with a headphone or bluetooth, and there isn’t any static or rough-sounding noises when answering like the 8330 had. The one thing that really bothers me about this phone, which is actually a stupid thing to bother me, is that every time I have to take the back off of it, it feels like it’s snapping because of the way it’s built.Overall, I think this phone is a very good upgrade to its predecessors and some of the features are even better than the ones that are coming out now. There are a few downsides to it, but there are some of those for every phone. To keep it at its best performance level, a routine memory sweep (not the full phone sweep, just a memory cleaning) must be done, and Internet history and caches must be cleaned almost daily or things start getting slow. It’s a great phone to have and works great for the most part. It’s one of the best phones I’ve had, and I love the new design on it, which was a huge factor for me. I’ve kept it longer than I’ve kept most phones, which is saying a lot. It’s definitely worth trying out.

8.5/10

Comments
2 Responses to “REVIEW: Verizon Blackberry Curve 8530”
  1. Anonymous says:

    Good to know..have been stalling buying a new one because I wasn’t sure if there would be any worth it right now that I could afford

  2. Rod says:

    How can I download my phone numbers and pictures from my phone?
    Thanks,
    Rod Moyer

Leave a Reply

