Kev’s Top 10: Favorite Horror Movies (1/2)

With the release of the reboot of A Nightmare On Elm Street, I’ve decided it was time to show all you my favorite horror movies. It will more than likely look nothing like your top 10 at all. See 10-6 under the cut…

#10: The Poughkeepsie Tapes (2007)

“You wanna see what it looks like through the camera?”

August Underground may have first used the concept of first person view of serial killers, but The Poughkeepsie Tapes cleans it up and make it’s part footage/mockumentary. While this is scary for a different reason August Underground was scary, it still scares the shit out of me. The slow walking scene, the police car scene, the home invasion scene (which is one of my most frightening scenes I’ve ever seen), and the ending. The ending is the only scene in any movie that I had to look away. The fear in the woman’s eyes, the scared look on her face, what she looks like and the another part of her body that was unnerving to see to say the least. While the acting in the “documentary” portion of the movie is pretty bad and uninspiring, the footage portion is terrifying and will haunt you for days to come. (Check the movie out on YouTube because the movie has been delayed for release for 3 years now).

#9: Anaconda (1997)

“They strike. Wrap around you. Hold you tighter than your true love. And you get the privilege of hearing your bones break before the power of the embrace causes your veins to explode.”

Probably the first horror movie I’ve ever seen. I remember seeing this at age 5 or 6 and it was so cool. 13 years later and the movie still scares me because of my massive fear of snakes. The screams of the snake in this movie haunted my childhood. The movie is noteworthy for having an animatronic snake in it for almost all the scenes and a CGI one used for tougher scenes. The movie went on to get a Hollywood sequel in 2004 (which I enjoyed) and followed by 2 sequels (in name only) on the SciFi Network with cheaply made CGI snakes that don’t even look like Anacondas. I’ve seen this movie than any other movie and I still love it after all these years. This is a horror B movie at it’s finest.

#8: High Tension (2003)

“I won’t let anyone come between us any more.”

First hardcore horror or NC-17 movie I’ve ever seen. And it rocked. The beautiful trailer with Sonic Youth’s rendition of ‘Superstar’ playing in the background made it instantly the most anticipated movie of the year for me because of the creepiness the song gave to the graphic imagery and ended up being my favorite movie of 2005. The movie is frightening because of the premise of someone invading your house in the middle of the night (multiple movies on my list have the same premise, tis a huge fear of mine). What follows is a brilliant game of cat and mouse with one of the most impressive and shocking endings to a horror movie I’ve ever seen.

#7: Inside (2007)

After High Tension, I made it a mandatory mission to see more extreme French horror movies. The first one I saw after High Tension was Inside. A pregnant woman is alone in her house when a strange woman shows up outside her house and won’t leave until she takes the woman’s baby. And it’s as bloody and crazy as you think it is times 40. The movie at the start is very good at using the dark to be scary and to confuse you. You will be thinking you see the woman in the darkness, but really don’t, then when she shows up, it scares the shit outta you. The climax of the movie had my jaw to the ground. Do not see this movie if you are: a) pregnant or b) a woman. These new hardcore French horror movies absolutely deliver.

#6: August Underground’s Mordum (2003)

“You don’t have to worry about growing up now, sweetie.”

3 people embark on the most insane, sadistic, and stomach turning killing spree ever put on film. The movie has a game of “It can’t get any worse than this” and then the next scene is 10 times worse than anything you could ever imagine. This movie and it’s sequels have changed my views on horror movies and made me not want to watch any for months.  This movie doesn’t shy away from absolutely anything. There’s no off screen murders. Nothing is left to the imagination. Fred Vogel can rest easy knowing he has made the most realistic, sadistic, disturbing, disgusting and ballsy serial killer movie of all time. Mordum contains scenes that are so unbelievable hanus that I had to take breaks before finishing some scenes and I don’t even want to talk about the individual scenes themselves. Without a doubt, the most disturbing and sadistic movie of all time.

Check back soon for #5-1

Leave a Reply

