REVIEW: A Nightmare On Elm Street (2010)

READ FRED’S SECOND OPINION REVIEW HERE

A re-imagining of the horror icon Freddy Krueger, a serial-killer who wields a glove with four blades embedded in the fingers and kills people in their dreams, resulting in their real death in reality.

Review:

The very first showing of A Nightmare On Elm Street played tonight at midnight at a few of the local theaters. Since it only played at two theaters that were even remotely close to my home, the theater we ended up going to was really crowded, and I had to sit in one of the front few rows. It wasn’t so bad for this movie, though, since there are no subtitles or tiny things that need to be seen.

As a whole, the new Freddy Krueger movie had the same atmosphere and same feel as all of its predecessors. It was creepy at some points, but more jumpy than anything. I do want to point out, though, that there is one scene in the movie that absolutely terrified me, and it had nothing at all to do with Freddy Krueger, if that tells you anything. Not much changed in the layout of the movie or the basic characters either. They were all pretty much written just like the characters had been written previously. There were some very large and some very subtle changes throughout the movie in comparison to the original, but I will NOT have any spoilers in this review, as I feel that you should have to see the movie and judge it on your own before you make any decision on it. And trust me, some of the things I would tell you would make you not want to go see it. But altogether, if I sat here and told you the movie play by play for most of it, you’d still want to go see it for yourself.

The movie opens with Dean (Kellan Lutz) sitting at a diner table all by himself, which you may have seen in the trailers and some of the clips we have up on the site. It seems like he’s awake, and the waitress is ignoring him, so for some strange reason, he chooses to get up and follow her, even though he later admits to having nightmares with a burnt man in them. Anyway, the scene progresses, and most of the characters that will be throughout the whole movie are introduced in that same diner. That seemed a little cliche to me.

The movie plays itself out as just another Nightmare movie, and not much has changed on Elm Street–except maybe the terrible writing of Freddy Krueger. I’m going to start with the “victim” characters, because I want to save Freddy for last. There are two girls and three boys that they focus on through the whole movie, though they do bring in other characters at different places in it. The acting isn’t anything special, but it’s not terrible either. Kris–played by Katie Cassidy–reminds me of a blond Megan Fox, except her acting is exceptionally better, though that’s not saying much. The others aren’t much to be remembered, and are actually easily forgotten as the movie progresses, and even now I have trouble remembering who they are and where they came and went. They just didn’t really impress me, but I guess there never really are amazing actors in movies like this. The writing for them was pretty much exactly like the original movie, and again it was just mediocre and pretty basic. It didn’t stand out to me as being terrible, but it wasn’t great either.

Now to the actual movie. I don’t want to give away much about the movie, so I think I’ll leave out most of it. As far as the story goes, there’s not much to say for it, because pretty much everybody that’s going to see this remake has seen the original and probably all of its sequels. The effects were obviously and thankfully significantly better than all the ones before it, but those effects were good for their time. These ones were just basic horror movie effects. Contrary to what many people are saying, I actually liked most of the kills in this one a lot better than any of the ones before it. There isn’t much that’s creative about it, but the kills seem to be done better and a little creepier. There are a few really cool scenes (at least that’s what I thought), and I have one particular favorite, which is when the girl is crawling backwards on the floor in the drugstore (don’t worry, you saw it in a clip and part of it in the trailer). I think it was done really well and was actually a pretty cool scene.

I really, really, really want to talk about Freddy. I completely hated him. I love the actor (Jackie Earle Haley), who I loved in Watchmen, but he was seriously horrible in this movie. I think a lot of it was the writing of his character. The original Freddy–who was played by Robert Englund–seemed to do a lot better job of creeping people out, and didn’t sound or look so stupid doing it. Jackie Earle Haley’s character design looked to me like a Shar-Pei that made a mess with some Kool-Aid. No kidding. His eyes are so far apart and squinty, and he looks just ridiculous, so it’s really hard to be afraid of him. I found myself laughing at him a lot of the movie. And his voice is not good at all. I thought since his voice was so good in Watchmen that he would do a better job with this movie, but he just didn’t at all. His line delivery was slow and forced, and when he did speak, it made me crack up. His laugh is not scary, but funny, and makes him sound like he just isn’t all there mentally. And his voice and stupid, not even close to being even a little humorous, one-liners ruined the creepiness of the movie for me. They ruined his character in my opinion, and there is so much more that could be said about him, but I’ll just leave it to you guys to decide.

Since this review was so long, I’ll sum it up for you in one little paragraph. I just had a lot to say about the movie, and I still can’t really get across how I felt about it. Overall, the movie was good for what it was. I actually liked it a lot compared to the original, but that’s just me. That is, EXCEPT for Freddy and everything that he was in the remake. Like I said, there was only one scene that scared me, and that’s only because it had to do with the one thing that actually scares me, and I wasn’t expecting it. The movie held my interest, because it didn’t do EVERYTHING exactly like the original, and the effects and kills were decent enough that I actually think it was a decent movie. It wasn’t as stupid and unbelievable as the original and its sequels, so it definitely had that going for it. I feel like I should do two separate ratings: one for the movie and one for Freddy, but I’ll just leave it at one and blend them together.

6/10

Comments
2 Responses to “REVIEW: A Nightmare On Elm Street (2010)”
  1. Michele says:

    Great review..I will definitely go see it, having this in mind

  2. jimbo says:

    good revie.w i agree with a lot. freddy did suck. but i’d give it a 4/10. only good for the kills

Leave a Reply

