REVIEW: Kick-Ass (2010)

Dave Lizewski is an unnoticed high school student and comic book fan who one day decides to become a super-hero, even though he has no powers, training or meaningful reason to do so.

Review under the cut…

Review:

Took me a few days, but I finally had the opportunity to witness that which is Kick-Ass. First things first, I had never even heard of the graphic novel that this film is based upon when production started on this monster, nor did I have any interest once the first few stills started to flood the internet. While the trailers definitely won me over, I wasn’t completely sure that it would deliver. The whole thing seemed like it was doomed to failure. I was wrong. Very wrong.
The best way I can think of to describe Kick-Ass is to compare it to Shaun of the Dead. Both follow the same outline. Splice comedy with a certain genre, but make it feel like it belongs in said genre as well. Both films pulled this off flawlessly. This whole film feels like a comic book. With the word bubbles, arch nemesis, slap-stick action, and an overall moral that is present throughout the entire course of the film. They even incorporated the cliche “questioning” of the hero’s decision to take up crime fighting.
I’m trying to pick a part the negative, but the ones I even noticed are so paper thin I’d sound like a snobby asshole if I even stated them. With the exception of Christopher Mintz-Plasse, the performances are stellar from all parties. I grew tired of Mintz-Plasse’s shtick once the credits rolled on Superbad, but that’s probably just me.
This is a great way to kick start the upcoming summer blockbuster rush. I could jump into the whole Hit Girl controversy that’s brewing up everywhere, but I see no point. Everyone knows what this movie is and what will be incorporated in it. If 11-year old girls pick up a bazooka and start blowing holes through bullies or burglars I’ll simply point my finger at the parents who are responsible for said 11-year old. Not an R-rated movie they shouldn’t even be watching. – Fred

7.5/10

Directed By: Matthew Vaughn

Written By: Jane Goldman & Matthew Vaughn
Story By: Mark Millar & John Romita Jr.
Cast: Aaron Johnson, Nicolas Cage, Chloe Moretz, Christopher Mintz-Plasse
Runtime: 117 minutes
Rated R for strong brutal violence throughout, pervasive language, sexual content, nudity and some drug use – some involving children.
Comments
One Response to “REVIEW: Kick-Ass (2010)”
  1. BK says:

    i need to see this movie. badly.

Leave a Reply

